Thread: Developing outer arms

TylerDurden389 is offline NPC Heavyweight

Developing outer arms

Hey everyone, I'm having trouble developing my outer arms. I can't seem to get that outer bicep 'bump' underneath the the bicep peak that shows when flexing the arms from the outside or showing your arms from the back (most muscular pose, rear double biceps pose). Same problem with the triceps and how a fully developed outer arm pose shows two tricep muscles, the one under the biceps 'bump' and the longer, bigger head on the bottom.

I am quiete lean and don't really have much bodyfat (I wear a 26-30 waist size pant). I'm just over 5-2 and my weight goes from 133-143 pounds. So I don't think its fat that's covering the muscles. I've been working out for almost 9 years (with only an 8 month lay-off in 2004). I do this as a hobby and I never thought of trying to develop these muscles until about 4 months ago.

My biceps and triceps routine are as follows:

1. Standing barbell curls (straight bar, alternate shoulder grip and close grip each workout) 4 sets, 15,10, 8,6-7 reps

1A. Seated dumbell curls - 4 sets, 15, 10, 8, 6-7 reps

2. Preacher curls (Curl bar, alternate shoulder grip and close grip each workout) 4 sets, 15, 10, 8, 6-7 reps

2A. One-arm preacher curls, 4 sets, 15, 10, 8, 6-7 reps

3. Concentration curls done with elbow in close (I find doing these with the rep ending with the dumbell touching my chest instead of my shoulder really pumps up the outer bis) 4 sets, 15, 12, 10, 8 reps

3A. Incline dumbell curls - 4 sets, 15, 12, 10, 8 reps

I do biceps twice a week, one day I do the first exercises, the other day I do the A exercises. I do back, biceps and forearms on mondays and thursdays.

Triceps:

1. Parallell bar dips (Back upright to work tris instead of chest) 4 sets - 16, 12, 10, 10 reps

1A. Seated tricep extensions - 4 sets - 20, 12, 10, 8-9 reps

1B. Tricep kickbacks - 4 sets - 16-17, 12, 10, 10 reps